Skip to main content

Purple Line BRT Project

Purple Line project committees

Three committees will be formed to advise the project: the Corridor Management Committee, the Community and Business Advisory Committee, and the Technical Advisory Committee. Meeting agendas and materials will be available in the Project Library.

Corridor Management Committee (CMC)

The Corridor Management Committee (CMC) will include elected officials and community leaders who are appointed by the Chair of the Metropolitan Council to advise the Metropolitan Council and Ramsey County on the design and construction of the Purple Line. The CMC will use technical, community and business input to leverage opportunities and address issues throughout each stage of the proposed project including preliminary design, final design and construction.

The CMC will meet on a monthly, quarterly or as-needed basis. All CMC meetings will be open to the public. Agenda will be posted to the website before each meeting and meeting minutes will be posted following the next CMC meeting, once approved. Meetings will be held virtually and live-streamed for the public to join. The livestream video links will be posted below with the meeting materials. Due to technical difficulties, the 9/16/22 meeting was not livestreamed or recorded.

Please contact Liz Jones at: [email protected] or 651-602-1977 with any questions.

2024 meetings and materials

Meeting date Materials
June 6, 2024
  • Agenda
  • Presentation
  • Summary
  • Video
May - Canceled  
April 4, 2024
March 7, 2024
February - Canceled  
January 10, 1:00-2:30 pm

2023 meetings and materials

Meeting date Materials
December - Canceled  
October 11, 1:00-2:30 pm
September 13, 1:00 - 2:30 pm
June 29, 10:30 am-noon
April 6, 1:00 - 2:30 pm 
March 15 - Canceled

2022 meetings and materials

Meeting Date Materials
Sept. 16, 12:30-2 pm
Aug. 24 - CANCELED
June 17, 12:30-2 pm
April 29, 10:30 am-noon (in-person)

CMC members

Name Organization
Charlie Zelle, CMC Chair Metropolitan Council, Chair
Victoria Reinhardt, CMC Vice Chair Ramsey County, Commissioner
Chai Lee, District 13 Metropolitan Council, Councilmember
Mai Chong Xiong Ramsey County, Commissioner
Nelsie Yang City of St. Paul, Councilmember
Nikki Villavicencio City of Maplewood, Councilmember
Erik Goebel City of Vadnais Heights, Councilmember
Bill Walsh City of White Bear Lake, Councilmember
Len Cacioppo City of Gem Lake, Councilmember
Scott McCune White Bear Township, Supervisor
Luke Schlegel City of Mahtomedi, Councilmember
Lesley Kandaras Metro Transit, Interim General Manager
Sheila Kauppi Minnesota Department of Transportation, District Engineer
Laurie Malone CBAC - Resident Representative
Ianni Houmas CBAC - Business Representative

Community and Business Advisory Committee

The Community and Business Advisory Committee (CBAC) will be comprised of local residents and businesses representatives along the Purple Line to advise the Metropolitan Council on how stations can best serve the neighborhoods and businesses where they are located. The committee will provide the community perspective on the overall project design. Participation on the committee will extend through the duration of the project. The committee will be led by co-chairs, one resident and one business community representative. CBAC members will be selected through an application process and represent community and business perspectives at each of the project's station areas. Committee members were selected by elected and appointed officials from along the Purple Line corridor. There will be approximately four – six meetings per year at a time that works best for most participants, with opportunities for additional neighborhood-specific involvement. 

Please contact Liz Jones at: [email protected] or 651-602-1977 with questions or for virtual meeting information.

2024 meetings and materials

Meeting Date Materials

May 22, 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM

May 24, 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

April 24, 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM

April 26, 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

March 29, 12:30 PM - 2:00 PM
February 23, 12:30 PM - 2:00 PM

2023 meetings and materials

Meeting Date Materials
December 6, 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
September 11, 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
June 21, 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM
May 22, 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM

2022 meetings and materials

Meeting Date Materials September 13, 11:30 am-1 pm

July 7, 5-6:30 pm


CBAC members

Name CBAC Seat
Shari Wilson At-large Ramsey County
John H. Perlich At-large Ramsey County
Jack Byers At-large Ramsey County
Rebecca Nelson At-large Ramsey County
John Slade At-large Ramsey County
Don Mullin At-large Ramsey County
Ianni Houmas At-large Ramsey County
Debra Canfield Maplewood business
Laurie Malone Maplewood resident
Steve Heckler Maplewood resident
Patrick Horan Maplewood resident
Torin Gustafson Maplewood resident
Zachary Mensinger St. Paul business
Brent Peterson St. Paul business
Ian R. Buck St. Paul business
Joan Ballanger St. Paul resident
Felicia Anderson St. Paul resident
Leah Gayle St. Paul resident
Nengshy Vang St. Paul business
Alberto Bertomeu St. Paul business
Jeanette Jones St. Paul resident
Abby Alldaffer St. Paul resident
Darrell Paulsen TAAC Representative
Mary Buerkle Vadnais Heights business
Kevin Whelan Vadnais Heights business
David B. Monsour White Bear Lake business
Carol McFarlane White Bear Lake resident
Katherine T. Knudsen White Bear Lake resident
Paul Bolstad White Bear Lake resident
Shelly Hauge White Bear Township business

Technical Advisory Committee

The Technical Advisory Committee will be formed in Spring of 2022 and will convene monthly to advise the Purple Line Project team and Corridor Management Committee from a technical perspective. Staff will include planners and engineers from public agencies involved in planning the Purple Line project.

The TAC will include staff representatives from:

  • Metro Transit
  • Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Ramsey County
  • Ramsey County Public Works
  • Ramsey County Community Economic Development
  • Ramsey County Parks and Recreation
  • City of St. Paul
  • City of Maplewood
  • City of Vadnais Heights
  • White Bear Township
  • City of White Bear Lake
  • Capitol Area Architecture and Planning Board