Skip to main content

Rider's Almanac Blog

Transit Police

Police awards celebrate bravery, compassion

Posted by Drew Kerr | Thursday, August 17, 2023 12:58:00 PM

From left to right: Chief Ernest Morales III, Officer Daniel Hughes, Officer Juan Peralta, U.S. Marshal and former Metro Transit Police Chief Eddie Frizell.

There were stories of bravery: The police officers who located and calmed an armed suspect in the City Center. The officers who ran toward an engulfed vehicle involved in a serious collision, rescuing the people inside. The operator who saw a woman in distress, reversed, let her on the bus, and stood between a would-be assailant until police could arrive. 

There were stories of compassion: The officers and outreach staff who helped an unsheltered man, lost and alone at a transit center, move into a long-term care facility. The officer who convinced a man to step back from the second-story ledge of a parking ramp. The officer who, after many meetings, got a police skeptic to be comfortable enough to dance with him.  

And there were stories of support: The watchful Transit Control Center supervisor who dispatched police while an officer was being assaulted. The maintenance supervisor who opened the garage to K-9 training. The Overhaul Base technicians who routinely turn ideas into reality.

These were just a few of the anecdotes shared this week during the Metro Transit Police Department’s awards program, which recognized officers and civilians for commendable actions taken in 2021 and 2022.

“Our officers and those we work with didn’t seek out this recognition, but their actions need to be remembered and celebrated because they represent the best of who we are and the compassion this department displays on a daily basis,” said Chief Ernest Morales III.

Morales was joined at this week’s celebration by former Chief Eddie Frizell, who in 2022 became the U.S. Marshal for the District of Minnesota.

In addition to celebrating acts of courage and kindness, the department also presented awards to officers who stood out as models and leaders. 

 > Officers Daniel Hughes and Juan Peralta were named officers of the year for 2021 and 2022, respectively. Hughes and Peralta are each field training officers who work closely with new officers, and both are active in the National Latino Peace Officers Association.

 > Lts. Salah Ahmed and Jason Linder were named supervisors of the year for 2021 and 2022, respectively. Ahmed is a watch commander noted for his servant leadership and Linder has led the department’s efforts to serve special events and start the supplemental security program.

 > Ofc. Marty Williams and Sgt. Robert Doerfler were named the Tim Bowe Award recipients for 2021 and 2022, respectively. The Tim Bowe Award is presented to a part-time Metro Transit police officer; Doerfler is now a full-time Metro Transit police officer, and was recently promoted to sergeant.

Metro Transit Police Awards 2021-22


Join our law enforcement team!

We're continuously accepting applications for full-time police officers and Community Service Officers. Learn more and apply here

Hiring more police officers and Community Service Officers is among 40+ actions included in our Safety & Security Action Plan, which summarizes the steps we're taking to improve public safety on transit. Learn more about the plan here.