Skip to main content

Officer of the year

Metro Transit Police Awards

2017 Officer of the Year: Tim Lawrence

Photo of Officer Tim Lawrence

Officer Tim Lawrence joined the Metro Transit Police Department in 2012 and has spent time at both the East and West commands. Lawrence was selected as the department's Officer of the Year for displaying compassion, having a strong work ethic and approaching his work with a calm demeanor. Lawrence also supports the department's efforts through his work on the Crisis Intervention Team, Bike Rapid Response Team and as a field training officer. "To say that Tim has a big heart is an understatement," Police Chief John Harrington said. At the time of his award, Lawrence was a daytime patrol officer, largely patrolling Minneapolis and Brooklyn Center. He is a graduate of Bethel College and previously worked at a juvenile detention center and as a reserve officer for the Hastings Police Department.

> Rider's Almanac: Sincerity, soft touch earn officer top cop honors

2017 Timothy Bowe Memorial Award: Michael Holtmeier

Photo of Officer Michael Holtmeier

The Timothy Bowe Memorial Award is given to a part-time officer who displays exceptional professionalism and dedication. The 2017 award went to Officer Michael Holtmeier, who began working part-time with Metro Transit police in 2013. Holtmeier is a full-time patrol officer with the Roseville Police Department.

See the full list of 2017 award winners


Past Officers of the Year Past Timothy Bowe Award Winners
Katherine Spear 2016 James Galland 2016
Leonard Mitchell 2015 Santiago Rodriguez 2015
Daniel Wallace, Matthew Wilkinson 2014 Michael Sheady 2014
Andrew Schroeder 2013 Sithyvon Chau 2013
Adam Marvin 2012 Marty Williams 2012
Leonard Keyes 2011 David Minkel 2011
Leo Castro 2010 Scott Nolan 2010
Said Jama 2009 Todd Gross 2009
Rick Grates 2008 Brad Sporny 2008
Richard Raymond 2007 Rollie Martinez 2007
Richard Gizzi 2006 Todd Soderholm 2006
Steve Bakeberg 2005 Jake Ayers 2005
Michael LaVine 2004 Paul Bartz 2004
Steven Sworski 2003 James Johnson 2003
Arthur Hart 2002 Michael Kaczmarek 2002
  Richard Schwartz 2001
  Michael Herbert 2000
  Dominic Cotroneo 1999
  Donn Wallin 1997