Skip to main content For screen readers, our previous mobile pages might be more easily navigated while we continue to improve the accessibility of our website.

August 2, 2013

Metro Transit Police Swear In 19 New Full-Time Officers

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL – (August 2) – The Metro Transit Police Department has added 19 new full-time officers to its ranks. Officers were sworn in this afternoon by Chief John Harrington at a ceremony in Minneapolis.

“This well-qualified group of full-time officers will fill a key role for our region’s growing transit system – particularly as we prepare for METRO Green Line light-rail service next year,” Harrington said. “Metro Transit customers represent many different cultural backgrounds and this diverse group of officers is reflective of the many communities that make up the Twin Cities.”

The 19 officers come from various law enforcement backgrounds. Five of the officers have previous sworn law enforcement experience totaling nearly 24 years of service.  The new officers represent diverse community backgrounds including African-American, Somali and Latino and several are bilingual, speaking Arabic, Somali or Spanish.

The new officers join 64 licensed and sworn full-time and 60 existing part-time Metro Transit Police officers. This addition will result in a net increase of 15 more full-time Metro Transit Police officer positions – for a total of 83. The growing department added 22 additional part-time officers in April of this year and plans to hire an additional 26 part-time officers this fall.

Metro Transit Police patrol routes, rail stations and other transit facilities by riding buses and trains, in squads and on foot. The department was created in 1993 and has jurisdiction wherever Metro Transit buses and trains operate – currently in eight metro counties. Read more at

Click images to enlarge













Front Row, L-R, Lt. Steve Bakeberg, Brett Schuck, Abdulkhayr Hirse, Emmanuel Martinez-Cruz, Rachael Ives, Erika Hatle, Sara Kahler, Corey Martens, Chief John Harrington. Back Row, L-R, John Steele, Larry Wright, Salah Ahmed, Chad Koller, Timothy Conley, Noah Landers, Marcus Johnson, LaFayette Temple, Leonard Mitchell, Samuel Scheeler, Brandon Colvin, Lt. Jason Lindner. Not pictured: Ryan Knoll.

Salah Ahmed is given his badge by Metro Transit Police Chief John Harrington.

The new class of officers for the Metro Transit Police Department applaud following the ceremony. 


Metro Transit is a service of the Metropolitan Council. Customers boarded buses and trains more than 81 million times in 2012.


Contact: John Siqveland, Public Relations Manager, 612-349-7089 or

Skip footer navigation